Masses of yogurt; yogurt for the masses

The foraging day I went on a couple of weeks ago (more on this at some point), combined with my broken rib stopping me running / cycling about and the usual summer feeling of wanting to go all self-sufficient has got me making stuff like never before. From jam to junket, I’m the dodgy foodstuff king.

My latest endeavour is yogurt. I haven’t made yogurt since I was a kid and it’s got me thinking: we are FAR too reliant on shops. It takes about 15 minutes to make yogurt – including sterilising everything. So why buy it?

If you haven’t done it before, prepare to be amazed. If you have done it before do it again and amaze someone else (especially kids. They think it’s magic. Or something). Here’s how:

Sterilise a thermos flask in boiling water for about 10 mins. Take a pint of milk. Keep about 2 tablespoons to one side and heat the rest to 40 degrees ish

Take the milk you held back and mix with a couple of tablespoons of live yogurt. Once it’s mixed properly add it to the rest of the milk. Stir it a lot and put it in the thermos. Leave over night. Come back in the morning and… have masses of yogurt. More than you know what to do with come to think of it.

See? Masses of yogurt made by the masses 🙂

#recipe

One thought on “Masses of yogurt; yogurt for the masses

Leave a Reply

