A rae of sunshine

mmm.... skate

OK so I forgot to take a pic until I'd tucked in. Suppose that tells you how good it is.

Wow. Just finished munching through this and thought it worthy of more than a bit of a mention. Thanks to Dave up the road (for lending me the book) and Jamie Oliver (for writing the book in the first place).

Now I can’t remember the last time I had Skate. And I keep reading that I shouldn’t eat it because it’s been so overfished. But if you find it on the reduced shelf, aren’t you sort of doing the fish a favour by taking it home and doing something good with it, rather than it ending up in the bin?

The recipe is Jamie Oliver’s Skate Wings with Prosciutto, Radicchio, Capers and Lemon. I cut it down to feed just me. And I un-fancied it: bacon in place of prosciutto; cabbage in place of radicchio. It’s a brilliant zingy, meaty wonder, which I had with spuds.

Here’s my typing in a hurry version:

  • 4 x 340g wings of skate
  • salt and pepper
  • flour for dusting
  • 4 tablespoons of olive iol
  • 5 knobs butter
  • 9-12 slices proscuitto, chopped
  • 1 finely chopped clove of garlic
  • 1 head of radiccio, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons capers, soaked in water
  • juice of 2 lemons

First up – put the oven on! it needs to be 230c so might take a while. Rinse the skate, pat dry and season before dusting with flour. Get a frying pan hot, add the oil and then pop in 4 knobs of butter and skate at the same time. Turn the heat down a bit and cook on each side for 2 minutes. Next up put it in the oven for 4-5 minutes.

While the skate’s in the oven, fry the bacon (sorry – prosciutto!) until it starts to go golden then throw in the garlic, capers and radiccio.  Turn the heat down and put in  the last knob of butter. Once the radicchio has started to wilt pour in the lemon juice. Plate up the skate and pour the rest over it.

This really did rock. And was finished off by the fact I got to eat it out on the balcony watching the sun going down. Feel ready for a manic week now!

Leave a Reply

